a Review: Eleanor & Park (158)

Screen-Shot-2013-05-07-at-12.42.03-PMBook: Eleanor & Park, Listening Library, February 2013

Written By: Rainbow Rowell

Website//Twitter//Goodreads

Read By: Rebecca Lowman & Sunil Malhotra

Book Info: Audiobook, Overdrive, Borrowed

Goodreads//Amazon

Challenges: 100 book challenge, Audiobook challenge, Love Library Books, Reading Outside the box, TBR Pile challenge

About Book: 

Bono met his wife in high school, Park says.

So did Jerry Lee Lewis, Eleanor answers.
I’m not kidding, he says.
You should be, she says, we’re 16.
What about Romeo and Juliet?
Shallow, confused, then dead.

I love you, Park says.
Wherefore art thou, Eleanor answers.
I’m not kidding, he says.
You should be.

Set over the course of one school year in 1986, ELEANOR AND PARK is the story of two star-crossed misfits – smart enough to know that first love almost never lasts, but brave and desperate enough to try. When Eleanor meets Park, you’ll remember your own first love – and just how hard it pulled you under.

My Thoughts:

images

That really would be my whole review if I thought that’s all I could put to sum up the awesomeness of this book. Sadly well not really sadly that is so not true. Well the picture is true. Here are my actually thoughts…..

So totally swooning right now. This was an amazing book. I had a heard so many wonderful things about this book.

images (2)

Eleanor

I love that Eleanor is who she is she is totally a misfit in the best sense of the word. She doesn;t expect much from anyone. She was dealt a pretty bad hand in life it seriously is well crap.  Her father should be slapped he has no idea that his kids need him especially now and what is he doing playing house with some woman. Don’t even get me started on Richie. There are seriously no words for how disgusting he is. The thing that makes her better well almost is that she hasn’t let it define her. All the messed up things in her life. She is something. I love that she like comics and she writes song titles on her book covers. I did things like that in high school. It makes her unique and I don’t really see that as a negative things. Eleanor is by far an amazing female main character and I love the way she is portrayed in this book.

Park

Park

Then there is Park sweet loveable Park. I need every word that mean amazing and that still wont describe my feelings for him. He is just wow. I think I was falling in love with him while Eleanor was. He awed me with his loyalty and the incredibly sweet things he does for her. I mean any guy who would do the things he did in the name of like well he is just wow. I mean x-men and watchmen comics! I am kind of nerdy. I mean look at the X-men.

images (4)
He seriously set there and brought his collection of comic books to her because he knew she would like them that is just the sweetest thing ever! The love he feels for Eleanor is so intense for being in high school and its so true. He doesn’t even doubt what he feels for a second and I found that to be amazing.

eleanorgraphic

Honestly this I one of the best love stories I have ever listened to. Rainbow Rowell is just wow. She made me a fan as soon as I listened to the first word of the first sentence. Park is the perfect teenage misfit and Eleanor is well I think she is just wonderful the way she is. I don’t think Rainbow could have written a better story about these two.  I love how Eleanor thought of park as the sun. He really was the sun while I listened to this book. There are not enough words for me to say how much I enjoyed this book. I could read this book over and over I honestly don’t think I would get sick of it.

Untitled

yes

Honestly if I could put this book into every person in the worlds hands and be like read right now I would. This book is right up there with The Fault in Our Stars By John Green for me. If you have read my past post you know that is one of my all time favorite books and I read it like two years ago. this is another book that touches your heart in a way that you are left speechless at least it was for me. So I say go read or listen to it what ever you prefer but really read it or listen because this book in my opinion will stay with you for a while. You may even find your self wanting to re read it as soon as possible. I know I did. 🙂

quotation-marks

“Eleanor was right. She never looked nice. She looked like art, and art wasn’t supposed to look nice; it was supposed to make you feel something.”

“Holding Eleanor’s hand was like holding a butterfly. Or a heartbeat. Like holding something complete, and completely alive.”

“What are the chances you’d ever meet someone like that? he wondered. Someone you could love forever, someone who would forever love you back? And what did you do when that person was born half a world away? The math seemed impossible.”

“I don’t like you, Park,” she said, sounding for a second like she actually meant it. “I…” – her voice nearly disappeared – “think I live for you.”
He closed his eyes and pressed his head back into his pillow.
“I don’t think I even breathe when we’re not together,” she whispered. “Which means, when I see you on Monday morning, it’s been like sixty hours since I’ve taken a breath. That’s probably why I’m so crabby, and why I snap at you. All I do when we’re apart is think about you, and all I do when we’re together is panic. Because every second feels so important. And because I’m so out of control, I can’t help myself. I’m not even mine anymore, I’m yours, and what if you decide that you don’t want me? How could you want me like I want you?”
He was quiet. He wanted everything she’d just said to be the last thing he heard. He wanted to fall asleep with ‘I want you’ in his ears.”

“You can be Han Solo,” he said, kissing her throat. “And I’ll be Boba Fett. I’ll cross the sky for you.”

“Nothing was dirty. With Park.
Nothing could be shameful.
Because Park was the sun, and that was the only way Eleanor could think to explain it.”

 

5

happy readingjess

 

 

 

 

p.s.

I saw this on Rainbow Rowell’s website and thought why does it matter?

IS ELEANOR FAT?

Why is Park Korean?

Then my browsing made me find this and I thought ooo Music I love music.

Rainbow’s Playlist for Eleanor and Park

Playlist

Leave a Reply

