a Review: The Realm of Possiblity (157)

1022836Book: The Realm of Possibility,Knopf Books for Young Readers, August 2004

Written By: David Levithan

Website//Twitter//Goodreads

Book Info:Hardcover, SSJCPL, Borrowed

Goodreads//Amazon

Challenges: 100 book Challenge, Jumble your Genres, Love Library Books, Quick Fix, a-z Title Challenge, You Read How Many?

About Book:

Here’s what I know about the realm of possibility—
it is always expanding, it is never what you think
it is. Everything around us was once deemed
impossible. From the airplane overhead to
the phones in our pockets to the choir girl
putting her arm around the metalhead.
As hard as it is for us to see sometimes, we all exist
within the realm of possibility. Most of the limits
are of our own world’s devising. And yet,
every day we each do so many things
that were once impossible to us.

Enter The Realm of Possibility and meet a boy whose girlfriend is in love with Holden Caulfield; a girl who loves the boy who wears all black; a boy with the perfect body; and a girl who writes love songs for a girl she can’t have.

These are just a few of the captivating characters readers will get to know in this intensely heartfelt new novel about those ever-changing moments of love and heartbreak that go hand-in-hand with high school. David Levithan plumbs the depths of teenage emotion to create an amazing array of voices that readers won’t forget. So, enter their lives and prepare to welcome the realm of possibility open to us all. Love, joy, and these stories will linger.

My Thoughts:

So this review is going to be poem by poem then have my over all thoughts 🙂

One: Daniel, Mary, Diana, Megan

☆Smoking☆

I feel like smoking has been romanticized in the most beautiful way. I honestly loved that it was just about being with the person you love. This is a beautiful poem. I fell in love with it so easily.

My Fave Lines:

“i am seeing, as if by the light of a match,

a glimpse of my life

and having it feel right.

this will linger.”

☆tinder heart☆

This was a sad part to hear a person do down on herself. She is just hopeless. I love that she sees the people who have hope and faith in her and wonders why. I love that by the end she is willing to ask for help.

☆Love Songs for Elizabeth☆

I just wanted to hug her. unrequited love sucks and for his writer it seems so much worse. I actually knew someone when I was younger who went through the same thing. I always wondered what things would have been like for her if the person had liked her in return. I really wanted to just hug the person writing these songs because a the heart wants what it wants. I wish I could hear these songs to music.

☆On the inside☆

Ok this was even worse for me then the songs. I mean loving your best friend and having them be blind to it sucks. especially when you know they love someone they can never have.

My Fave lines:

“I’ve lost track of where friendship and falling in loves begins.

(this is the foolish refrain of the hopelessly devoted.) “

“She’s taken the place that was never mine.

you and i have our sad misdirected love in common

only yours sings out, while min is a voice left inside.”

Two: Tyler, Anton, Gail, Jill

☆My girlfriend is in love with Holden Caulfield☆

This is one of my favorites. It feels honest ti me. You can fill his frustration yet feel his love. I want to laugh because her passion for a fictional person is what made him fall for her in the first place. I love that he wants her even with her uniqueness. I feel like all he’s asking is for his girlfriend to see him. Just him not the pages of a book but him.

☆suburban Myth☆

It’s dark yet filled with light. H is in a dark place looking for a light to shine through. That’s what I got from this. It’s like he’s screaming at times bu then you see that little ray of hope in the middle of no where. Even if you get dragged back into the dark.

☆Gospel☆

I kind of wanted to skip this when I started to read it. Then slowly I am think ahh ok I see who you are. I found my self saying I understand now I think. I love that she wants to be a blessing. That she wants to be someone’s hope.  THen she becomes that blessing and hope. I love when, seriously this is my favorite part, she sings I’ve got the who;e world in my hands. I swear it almost felt like maybe just maybe she did. That was the best part because I could feel the hope that comes from this part.

☆Lying awake beside you, these thoughts run through my head☆

 First this is not what I expected from girlfriend in love with Holden Caulfield. I now understand her fascination with him. I also believe that I have a better understanding of who she is and why she has given up on herself. She wants to worthy of the boy who just wants to love her. She thinks that who she has been will destroy everything she has with him. The thing is she doesn;t see that she is worthy of his love. That she does deserve to be loved just like everyone else in the world. This is my favorite part because I know she is just afraid.

Fave Lines:

“I am tired of the phoniness especially my own.”

“Forgive me for what I might do to you.

The Threat of the past in my feature.”

Three: Anne, Jamie, Pete, Clara

☆Fragments☆

I love that this has different pieces that make her whole. I like that there are all sorts of moments that make her who she is. I liked this one because its true for everyone we have all had moments that had made us who we are.

☆the day☆

My heart just feel to pieces while I read this. I mean in seriously hear broken. I hate threat heat break is always a possibility.like seriously reading this I was lost for words I want to quote the whole poem.I love the brothers insight. It reminds me of my brother. So I lied before this is my favorite part. Ok well it’s a tie between the day and lying in bed beside you these thoughts run through my head. Seriously wow.

☆Strong☆

I hate crying. I hate that I read this and my eyes stung became something as simple as loving someone more than yourself. I love how he goes from wanting to be physically strong to wanting emotional strength. I like that he chose the girl he was invisible to. I love that he wanted to be Stroh for her. This is an amazing part of this story.

☆The Patron Saint of Stoners☆

This title made me laugh.Then when read her story this is advancing. I love what she is doing for her mom.then the ending I stayed to cry again. This is just wow.

Four: Charlotte, Elizabeth, Cara, Lia

☆Writing☆

This one is simply truth.it is revealing het inner truths. I love it! I like that she just let what was in her head out. This was something I loved to do as a teenager I write every where ooo my walls. I loved that things are a blank canvas for her to express her self. love how at the end she casks her self. on being a coward. I think this is my ask time favorite.

☆Your Sister☆

I wish I had the chance to feel this way about my older sisters. I felt this way about my older brother. He was perfect to me when all I ever saw was flaws. Sometimes even now I think that I’m not anywhere near being who he once was. I loved this part because it reminded me of why i hated high school. It was all a dream land. I love the ending because it reminds me of my brother letting me be a part of his world at times. That’s what the ending for me was a reminder of having a glimpse of perfect even if it was for a little while.

☆Comeuppance☆

This was so just i don’t even know what to say. I mean this is something so true. I mean she actually stopped and looked at herself. I mean when she wrote all over herself and put her thoughts and Charlotte’s all over self. I mean that was like super powerful. This was an amazing part of the story.

Fave Line:

“Being a bitch is easy. It’s finding the alternative that’s hard.

☆The Grocer’s Daughter☆

This is sweet. This was something that everyone would love to read it is a great part.

Five: Zack, Karen, Lilly, Jed

☆Experimentation☆

I love this because it honest about how scary taking a new step in a relationship can be but at the same time it can be so amazing. Once again it shows that fear is something everyone faces no matter who you are.

☆unlonely☆

=) That’s all I can say about this one simply =)

☆Escapade☆

I love this one because this is how my best friend and I are. We used to go on adventures. I remember being pregnant and walking to random places. I could go forever without talking to her and I trust her with things that are precious. This reminded me of all the things we’ve been through.

☆Possiblity☆

Awe! I love this it so romantic. I love this one simply because it shows that love is love. There are so many possiblities out there for people. This was just the best ending and it was a swoon worthy moment in this book.

☆Over All Thoughts☆

Don’t make me tell you how much I love this book. It has the best things in it. I loved every single moment while reading this book. It has so many possibilities. I love how every part goes with the next part. I really don’t have any words for it. I think that David Levithan is now one of my favorite author of all time. I honestly don’t know where to being with this book.

This book is about love hope, forgiveness, faith and self discovery. The list could go on for days about everything you find in this book. The title fits perfectly because it really is about possibilities and all the things that go along with them. I mean any one person can have infinite possibilities. You have chances of finding love heart-break, betrayal and once again the list goes on.

Untitled

yes

This is a beautiful book that makes you think and fall in love with all the possibilities out there in the world. This book is a great quick read that any one would enjoy. I think everyone should try to read this if they get a chance.

5

happy reading

jess

One thought on “a Review: The Realm of Possiblity (157)

  1. Pingback: a Review: The Realm of Possiblity (157) | TinderNews

Leave a Reply

