a Review:Scintillate: The Lightkey Trilogy(152)

Scintilate

18050015Book:
Scintillate,Entangled Teen, February 2014

Written By:
Tracy Clark
Website//Twitter//Goodreads

Book Info: Arc,Rock Star Blog tours

Goodreads//Amazon

Series:
The Lightkey Trilogy, book 1

Series Order:
Scibtillate, untitled

Challenges:

About Book:

A mighty flame follows a tiny spark.Cora Sandoval’s mother disappeared when she was five and they were living in Ireland. Since then, her dad has been more than overprotective, and Cora is beginning to chafe under his confines. But even more troubling is the colorful light she suddenly sees around people. Everyone, that is, except herself—instead, she glows a brilliant, sparkling silver.As she realizes the danger associated with these strange auras, Cora is inexplicably drawn to Finn, a gorgeous Irish exchange student who makes her feel safe. Their attraction is instant, magnetic, and primal—but her father disapproves, and Finn’s mother orders him home to Ireland upon hearing he’s fallen in love. After a fight with her father, Cora flees to Ireland, both to follow Finn and to look for her missing mother.There she meets another silver-haloed person and discovers the meaning of her newfound powers and their role in a conspiracy spanning centuries—one that could change mankind forever…and end her life.Scintillate is the first book in this lush and exciting new trilogy, full of romance, adventure and metaphysical mystery.

My Thoughts:
so I took awhile to read this book but is because my son got the pink eye as my daughter now calls it. This book may have taken a little while to read by it was great to be able to digest what I read. This book slowly grew on me which was awesome because at first I thought I wouldn’t like it. Then I was lost I it like I didn’t want to found when I entered the world painted here.

setting

This story is set on two wonderful parts of the world. It is full of the things that I have always saw as magical so this is why I have drawn into it. The thought of having a places like this around even when it seems like there are few beautiful natural place left I the world so the two locations are part of what made this story worth reading

☆Santa Cruz,Ca ☆

First being a cali girl born and raised I was a crazed Santa Cruz visitor. I even dated a surfer. So I loved the setting in Santa Cruz it is really a beautiful place. So the thought of mystical people running around there didn’t seem that far catches. Santa Cruz is one of the most beautiful places in the world to me. I mean forest,beach, and a small community. I’ve always wanted to live there just because it just felt peaceful. Plus it has a boardwalk!

image

Red woods which in my opinion are the most amazing things of the world. They are unique and ancient.when I was a kids I used to think of how wonderful it would be to live to be as old as a tree and live the life they lived. I think part of that little kid still believes that

image

The beaches are just beautiful you oils loose your self in the ocean. As a teenager I would look at it for hours. This was my favorite place to escape. To this day I still love going there and getting lost.

image

The boardwalk was magical to me. I loved going on the rides and experiencing the thrill of it all. I had my first date there. It is as I said a magical place. At least for me. 🙂

☆Dublin,Ireland☆

Can you say bucket list! This is a place I’ve always wanted to go. It seems so magical. I know I said that about Santa Cruz bit when I say magical I mean the beauty of it all. I e always wanted to see the hills and go to a pub there. It’s just the thought of it amazes me. This is my dream get away place I have been thinking of making it a mommy time vacation for ever. I’ve just love the thought of it being full of mystery and rich with culture. So me being me was loving visiting through this story.

image

The Irish coast ! I love the ocean it is just one of my fave things so of course I have always wanted to see the coast this book only made it worse for me.

image

image

New Grange is now another place I want to see it is just beautiful and one of the mystery I’m talking about. This truly is a beautiful place to visit just look at the pictures.

☆The Guys:Finn v. Giovanni ☆

These were two beautiful boys. Then they have the whole exotic thing going for them. One Irish the other Italian.

☆ Giovanni ☆

Let me start with Giovanni. He is a blond blue-eyed Italian. He is just not the guy I would want in this book. From the moment I met him I didn’t trust him and even now after finishing the book something just doesn’t feel right about him.

☆Finn ☆

Black hair with blue eyes ! Yes I swooned. Plus he’s Irish I’ve always loved Irish accents. The reason I loved Finn was not as superficial as his looks being ooo it was because of his heart. He is genuine and caring. He would rather die then let anything bad happen to Cora because of him. He is truly the best kind of person. I mean even when I should have hated him I was filled with doubt. It was sad that he can’t help who he is 😦 he really is my favorite no matter what he is. I’m totally team Finn!
image

I imagine Finns tattoo looking like this.

☆Storyline ☆

I love the way this story unfolded it wasn’t predictable. You have Cora who is your almost typical seventeen year old minus being under her father’s crazy overprotective watch. This is a story that starts with a crazy beginning that makes you wonder what else could possibly happen. I want to just post a million and one spoilers but then I would destroy the whole story for everyone. This is a story with a character that grows as the story progresses. I loved watching her come out of her shell it made me love her that much more. I think that her journey was an inspiring one. Then when things got out of hand and she kept going  it shows how she evolved from a little girl to a brave young woman. I like to think that she was encouraged by her feelings for Finn. Also by her mysterious stalker who I think scared her into doing the things she needed to do. This is a story with a fun heroine and exciting events that unfold. It’s so hard not to give things away I just want to gush all of the awesome things that I love about this story that’s why I gave you three things to think about. especially since it is such a significant number in this book. Tracy wrote a great story and now I am in desperate need of book two. I am curious to see where life leads Cora and her companions. So the question everyone is thinking……..

Untitled

 

yes

 

  1. Great characters
  2. Interesting Storyline with mystery
  3. Book Hotties
  4. The setting is breath-taking
  5. It had a lot of history which makes for an amazing story.

5

quotation-marks

“The truth was, I believed in fate. And obviously our story wasn’t over.”  P.154

“Inwardly I lashed myself for not being stronger, for not kissing his cheek and parting ways again with resiliant grace, like a wonan in an old movie, whose heart bleeds as she smiles  polietly through her farewell.” P.155

“I’d never view musicans the same way after seeing how their Auras pulsed with the music as if their bodies were tunred to it.” P.158

“…. a heavy secret being on the shoulders of the one strong enough to carry it.” P.251

happy reading

jess

Book Trailer:

download

Giveaway Details:

Necklace

1 Prize pack of a key necklace and a signed copy of Scintillate. US ONLY

3 paperbacks of Scintillate US Only.

3 eBooks of Scintillate International.

images

Blog Tour

Click here for other stops

Leave a Reply

