a Review: THe Deep End of the Sea(151)

18844839Book: The Deep End of The Sea, Cerulean Books, February 2014

Written By: Heather Lyons

Website//Twitter//Goodreads

Book Info: ARC, Ink Slinger PR

Goodreads// Amazon

Challenges: 100 Book Challenge, eBook Challenge, Quick Fix, You Read How Many?

About Book:

What if all the legends you’ve learned were wrong?

Brutally attacked by one god and unfairly cursed by another she faithfully served, Medusa has spent the last two thousand years living out her punishment on an enchanted isle in the Aegean Sea. A far cry from the monster legends depict, she’s spent her time educating herself, gardening, and desperately trying to frighten away adventure seekers who occasionally end up, much to her dismay, as statues when they manage to catch her off guard. As time marches on without her, Medusa wishes for nothing more than to be given a second chance at a life stolen away at far too young an age.

But then comes a day when Hermes, one of the few friends she still has and the only deity she trusts, petitions the rest of the gods and goddesses to reverse the curse. Thus begins a journey toward healing and redemption, of reclaiming a life after tragedy, and of just how powerful friendship and love can be—because sometimes, you have to sink in the deep end of the sea before you can rise back up again.

My Thoughts:

This is a great twist on Medusa. I mean normally there are only horrible things said about her. I loved reading this story it is unique and heart warming. I loved that Medusa is painted in a different light. She is given something that makes you love her more than any of her legends ever could have. I normally find myself greatly disliking Medusa. While reading this story I found myself heart-broken than joyful, fearful and in love. This story made me so emotional. I don’t even know how to explain what this book made me feel while reading it.

I honestly would have never thought of medusa as a victim. I always thought of her as an evil monster who killed people not as a  scared girl who got her whole world turned upside down. This is not what I would have expected at all. Then for Hermes to be so different then I would have thought the god of travelers and  thieves to be. He is loving and kind totally swoon worthy. I mean come on eyes that change colors and hair that makes any girl want to rain her hands through it.  Hermes is the total package. I found my self falling from him. I was crying by the end of this book. Hermes is what every girl would want. He would for anything and everything for Medusa. There is truly a story of love.

I can honestly say that I have never disliked Athena and Poseidon more than in the world. I love both of these gods a majority of the time in their legends. So when I found myself wanting to kill both of them I found myself shocked. In this story they were such disgusting beings to me.

The thing I love about this story is that you are not just given normal tales about gods. You are given a story that you would never expect  when it comes to the gods and Medusa. The way the story of Medusa is changed is amazing.  I don’t even know how to explain it. Heather Lyons is talented and has awed me with her story telling. I cant wait to read more by her. Every person would love this story it is just wow. Heather Lyons is beyond talented.

5

happy reading

jess

Leave a Reply

