a Review: The Selection: The Selection, Book 1(149)

15827004Book: The Selection,

Written By: Kira Cass

Website//Twitter//Goodreads

Preformed By: Amy Rubinate

Twitter//Goodreads

Book Info:

Audiobook, Overdrive, Borrowed

Goodreads//Amazon

Series: The Selection, Book 1

Series Order: The Prince,The Selection,The Guard, The Elite, The One

Challenges: 100 book challenge, AudioBook Challenge, Dystopian Challenge, Love Library Books, TBR Pile Challenge, You read how many?

About Book:

For thirty-five girls, the Selection is the chance of a lifetime. The opportunity to escape the life laid out for them since birth. To be swept up in a world of glittering gowns and priceless jewels. To live in a palace and compete for the heart of gorgeous Prince Maxon.

But for America Singer, being Selected is a nightmare. It means turning her back on her secret love with Aspen, who is a caste below her. Leaving her home to enter a fierce competition for a crown she doesn’t want. Living in a palace that is constantly threatened by violent rebel attacks.

Then America meets Prince Maxon. Gradually, she starts to question all the plans she’s made for herself—and realizes that the life she’s always dreamed of may not compare to a future she never imagined.

My Thoughts:

So I have developed this new formed habit of reading reviews before i read a book. This normally doesn’t stop me from pick up a book to read or listen to. I found that with this book you either loved it or hated it. It didn’t seem like their were a lot of people with a middle ground for this book. So I thought hey you sound like a good book and with a cover like that you are a bit tempting. So I said to myself why not give it a chance. I am happy that I gave the selection a chance.

This is a story about America Singer who everything well most things out of love. He love for Aspen and her family. She goes and enters a competition she wanted nothing to do with and ends up being picked for it. that is something that awed me. That she got the last thing she wanted but something she desperately needed at the same time. I love who she is as a person he appears to be confident but at times she is unsure of herself. The thing that kept me interested was that it gave you a twist that I didn’t expect near the end. I love that America was interested in being friends with the girls. This story is fun and the fact that she found herself an unexpected friend made me enjoy it a tad bit more. This is definitely a different type of dystopian novel. It’s more of a love triangle in a reality t.v. show setting. Normally I would have  been bored after a few pages of reading if I read the physical book but thankfully I chose to go with audiobook format. This story is not they typical dystopian novel I have found myself reading. I found this one to be interesting in its own way.

☆America☆

I love that America is more interested in building a life with a man she loves than anything else. I like that her actions are based on her love for the people around her.

☆Aspen☆

Aspen makes me beyond angry with the crazy things that he says to America before she leaves. I wanted to strangle him. Then he changes everything up on you. All I could think was you don’t deserve her. THen he made me question that slowly. I loved that I was able to doubt what I felt about ASpen.

☆Maxon☆

Maxon is something else. He made me angry I don’t really like him. I don’t know I’m a little lost for words when it comes to him.

All in all this story is alright. I wish it had a bit more action. I always that aspect of dystopian novels. So i did expect more. I think this is set up for the type of gal who loves the whole reality t.v. thing. I am not big on reality t.v. It has an interesting story line with some lovely characters.  In away its a twist on Cinderella’s story a girl with nothing who ends up with more than she ever expected. I love that it is similar in ways. The competition seems odd especially when there are girls who would die for a chance to marry a prince. This book was unique and something different. That plenty of people would enjoy it. I feel as though you either love it or you hate it. Personally I loved parts of it and hated others. I wouldn’t say I recommended this book but I wont say I will.

3.5

happy reading

jess

One thought on “a Review: The Selection: The Selection, Book 1(149)

  1. Pingback: a Review: The Elite, The Selection Book 2(153) | Fiddle Fadle

Leave a Reply

