Days of Blood & Starlight:DoS&B, Book 2 ~ a Review(145)

13526458Book: Days of Blood & Starlight, Hachette Audio, (November 2012)

Written By:Laini Taylor

Goodreads//Website

Read By: Khristine Hvam

Goodreads// Website

Book Info: Audio Book, Overdrive, Borrowed

Goodreads//Amazon//AbeBooks

Series: Daughter of Smoke & Bones, Book 2

Series Order: Daughter of Smoke & Bone, Days of Blood & Starlight, Night of Cake & Puppets, Dreams of Gods & Monsters (Coming in April)

Challenges: 100 book challenge, Audio book challenge, Love Library books, Lucky no. 14, you Read how many? , TBR pile reading challenge
About Book:

In this stunning sequel to the highly acclaimed Daughter of Smoke and Bone, Karou must come to terms with who and what she is, and how far she’ll go to avenge her people. Filled with heartbreak and beauty, mysteries and secrets, new characters and old favorites, Days of Blood and Starlight brings the richness, color and intensity of the first book to a brand new canvas.
Daughter of Smoke and Bone was declared a “must read” byEntertainment Weekly, was named a Best Book of the Year by Amazon.com, and The New York Times called it “a breath-catching romantic fantasy.”

My Thoughts:
This book is amazing closer to the end well at least it was for me. I loved this book because it was about hope. It was amazing to see what happens with Karou and Akiva. Seeing them go from falling in love to becoming enemies was hard for me. This book was not what I expected at all. I was shocked to see How the story unfolded. Especially the characters.I was shocked to see where Karou ended up. I was even more shocked to find out where Akiva ended up. I had a lot of shocking moments while listening to this audio book. I hated to see Karou as a shell of herself. It reminded me of a quote from The Fault in Our Stars
image
For Karou and Akiva I felt their grief was revealed. I manifests itself in their determination ones for revenge and the others for forgiveness.
Karou
Listening to Karou made me sad because she was paying due someone else’s sins. She is living in a prison built of lies. She is constantly trying to convince herself that the events are a means to an end and things will get better if only he really believed it. This was heartbreaking as I continued to listen. She had become a shell of who she used to be. I felt myself wanting to comfort her constantly she had become a scared little girl. It was such a big change from who she was in Daughter of Smoke and Bone to who she is now. I thought often while listening that this is not who Brimstone would want her to be a person living to avenge her lost family.

Akiva
Akiva feels nothing but regret. He wants to try to make his post sins seem lesser web though he understands that can never truly happen. There were lots of moments for me where I wondered what Karou would do if she knew the things that Akiva was trying to do. She may actually be able to forgive him. I loved hearing Akiva’s escapades about what he was trying and hoping to accomplish. I was amazed at who he was able to allay himself with. I loved Akiva so much more in this book. I loved that he is determined to right his wrongs and be a better person. I loved that he was doing his best to keep the dream he had dreamed pure. This is one of the reasons I slowly found myself liking this book.
Mik & Zuzanna
More for the most wonderful humans in the world. They amazed me even more than Akiva did. Mik and Zuzanna are two of the most loyal people I have ever seen in a story ( So far) I was amazed that Zuzanna went through great lengths to find Karou. I loved how much she worried about her best friend even after all of the crazy things she had learned. I loved that Zuzanna took on fierce monsters by herself well with Mik but it was her idea. I don’t know if I could be that brave. I love that she stood by Karou even after learning what she truly was. I don’t think I could love Zuzanna any more she is an amazing friend. Then Mik sweet Mik who had such a great love for Zuzanna he would travel the world for her. He would go through anything for her. He had done amazing things for her. He awed me by the things he did for his girlfriend. I loved how pure his love is for her. Mik is just wow.

Hazael & Liraz
Then the brother and sister that loved their Brother more than anything.I was amazed by them as well they have so much love for each other. The fact that they still protected Akiva after everything they had learned. I loved getting to know who Hazael and Liraz are they amazed me with their fierce loyalty to Akiva. I honestly thought they would have turned him in or something. Then when they go and fight it out i was just like typical siblings they were angry they let it out and let it go. I found my self loving both of them where as in the first book i had a great dislike for them. I love Hazeal because he is so full of life. He simply is full of joy no matter what life has dealt him making him one of the misbegotten. I found myself wishing he had lived a better life. Then Liraz I was happy when i learned that she wasn’t the cold bitter monster she come off as. She awed me with her actions through out the story.

Other Characters 

So I can’t remember all of their names but I loved that Laini Taylor added more parts with minor characters. She made it so that you saw what the people in Eretz were going through. I loved learning what they were feeling and hearing all of their thoughts. This book allowed you to have more perspectives which was nice because I felt like I was able to see more of Eretz. 

This book was a good addition to the Daughter of Smoke and Bone trilogy. I think that everyone should read it. This book has an interesting storyline that I had not Expected after reading the first one. I would recommend this book to anyone who has read the first book in the series. If you have yet to read the fist book you are missing out on a imaginative series that paints to very different worlds in a beautiful light that any one would want to visit.

Happy Reading!

4862856480_baa7c6df13_z

Leave a Reply

