Delirium: Delirium, Book 1~ a Review (143)

10476734Book: Delirium, Harper Collins, Febuary 2011

Written By: Lauren Oliver

Goodreads/Website/Twitter

Read By: Sarah Drew

Book Info: Audio Book, Overdirve, Borrowed

Goodreads/Amazon/B & N

Series: Delirium

Series Order: Annabel, Delirium, Hanna, Pandemonium, Raven, Requiem, Alex

Challenges: 100 book challenge, Audio Book Challenge, Dystopian Challenge,Love Library Book, TBR Pile Challenge, You read how many?

About Book: 

Ninety-five days, and then I’ll be safe. I wonder whether the procedure will hurt. I want to get it over with. It’s hard to be patient. It’s hard not to be afraid while I’m still uncured, though so far the deliria hasn’t touched me yet. Still, I worry. They say that in the old days, love drove people to madness. The deadliest of all deadly things: It kills you both when you have it and when you don’t.

My Thoughts:

For me this was one of those rare books that leave you in awe at how beautiful it is. This book made me feel sad at the thought of never knowing love. I know that I am not a romantic but I have felt love and I feel it everyday with my beautiful family. That was a part of the sorrow I felt. The thought of a world that would not know love seemed tragic. There were many reasons I loved this book One was Lena’s perspective on the “disease” and how it slowly the way she thinks begins to change. That was what made me not want to put this down I loved walking around the house while cleaning listening to this book was great for me. It gave me no greater joy then to do my musing with this novel but enough about me more about the book.

Lauren Oliver takes love to a new level with this book when she says that people of this future, well most of, are cured from it. I found myself asking a lot of questions. Would I want this cure? Would I want to be unable to love my children? Would I have been as accepting of this cure as everyone else? Would I be able to give up true emotions? This book made me think So much.the whole time seeing Lena ,well listening to Lena, go through this struggle as the book progresses. As she evolves from being someone who believes this cure to be great but then to someone who wanted to experience love and never got the choice. I wouldn’t know how to accept that especially in the day and time we live in. People have fought for the right to love who they want. So the thought that a mother couldn’t she thier child love or two people couldn’t say that they love each other. For me this felt to be a great tragity. I love this book because it was written, in my opinion, perfectly. It made me tuink about what love really meant to me. It also shows how love cam change people just like Lena changed because of Alex for the better. It showed what sacrifice ment with an amazing ending that I never expected. I would recommend this book to anyone and everyone. Lauren Oliver has once again made a master piece. She is easily becoming one of my favorite authors.
Happy Reading!
image

P.S.
This post is from my phone I will be editing it later.

One thought on “Delirium: Delirium, Book 1~ a Review (143)

  1. Pingback: a Review: Annabel: Delirium, Book 0.5(150) | Fiddle Fadle

Leave a Reply

