a Review of XVI By Julia Karr(128)

10267757Book:  XVI, Puffin/Speak, January 2011

Written By:  Julia Karr

Goodreads/Website/Twiter

Book Info: Ebook Kindle Edition, Owned

Amazon/ B&N/ Goodreads

Series: XVI, Book 1

Series Order: XVI, Truth, Untitled

About Book:

Some girls can’t wait to be sixteen, to be legal. Nina is not one of them. Even though she has no choice in the matter, she knows that so long as her life continues as normal, everything will be okay.

Then, with one brutal strike, Nina’s normal is shattered; and she discovers that nothing that she believed about her life is true. But there’s one boy who can help–and he just may hold the key to her past.

But with the line between attraction and danger as thin as a whisper, one thing is for sure…

For Nina, turning sixteen promises to be anything but sweet

(Source: Goodreads)

My Thoughts:

  Well first off let me say I normally don’t enjoy Dystopian novels very rarely do I read one that sticks out to me. This was one that did so. I loved every Moment. Nina is an amazing character. She has a great determination to not fail her mother. She fought against her fears. I loved this book was about her learning to stand up for herself and her beliefs. It amazed me watching well reading the journey that Nina went through simply because she fought. She fought for her sister and for the truth she longed for. I think that is what kept me reading the fact that she was concerned about her sisters feature while all along the way knowing that hers wasn’t secure. Then to start falling in love with a boy she never thought she would want. This book was worth buying and reading. For me I would never want to picture the kind of feature depicted in XVI. HAving to be branded and told when you are old enough to handle things that most people shouldnt want to handle at sixteen. Then never being able to go somewhere without having the government tracking you it all seems so scary to me. This book is amazing and I can’t wait to add the sequel and the physical edition to my collection. This is a book I recommend to anyone who loves a good YA novel along with the dystopian genre.

4.5/5

4862856480_baa7c6df13_z

Leave a Reply

