Heart Beat by Elizabeth Scott (127)

17258743Book: Heartbeat, Harlequin Teen, January 28,2014

Written By: Elizabeth Scott

Series: Stand Alone

About Book:

Life. Death. And…Love?

Emma would give anything to talk to her mother one last time. Tell her about her slipping grades, her anger with her stepfather, and the boy with the bad reputation who might be the only one Emma can be herself with.

But Emma can’t tell her mother anything. Because her mother is brain-dead and being kept alive by machines for the baby growing inside her.

Meeting bad-boy Caleb Harrison wouldn’t have interested Old Emma. But New Emma-the one who exists in a fog of grief, who no longer cares about school, whose only social outlet is her best friend Olivia-New Emma is startled by the connection she and Caleb forge.

Feeling her own heart beat again wakes Emma from the grief that has grayed her existence. Is there hope for life after death-and maybe, for love?

(Source: Goodreads)

My Thoughts: 

I have no words for this book that would do it justice. I was shocked most of the story at how angry Emma was. The thing is I also spent most of my time reading this book thinking how would I feel? I am not sure how I’d feel knowing that my step dad kept my mom alive to save their child. I thought maybe I wouldn’t have been so angry. The thing is I probably would be angry if I wasn’t asked what my opinion was about the whole situation especially when it was someone so important to me. I think what kept me reading was that I was getting deeper and more involved in this book. It was the thought that I would be just as hurt as Emma. I would hate my step dad like she said she did. I would want to block out the person who was supposed to love me as much as my mother because I would have felt just as betrayed by that. The thing is as this story unfolds your left wanting to hug Emma at times but yell at her just as much.When it comes to Dan I don’t know what I would have done in his place. I remember when I was pregnant with my daughter I constantly thought that something could go wrong that she wouldn’t make it. I had told her father that I would want him to choose our baby not me. I think that is what was going on with Dan he understood that his wife wanted to have their baby that she was afraid to lose that baby. I could understand that as a parent because my choice would always be my kids. Caleb was someone I would have hug constantly having to live with guilt over something that was never his fault to have parents like his who blamed him for was just at a loss for words when it came to that. I loved that in a way Caleb and Emma saved each other. The brought each other out of the dark hole that was their grief. I can’t say I loved reading this book because it left me feeling heart-broken for Emma and her family. It’s not that I didn’t love the story it was that I can’t begin to find the words to say how much I enjoyed reading it. I cried for parts of it. The last time I cried so much during a book I read the Fault in Our Stars by John Green.This is an amazing book that I recommend it to anyone who enjoys a great book. 

Happy Reading!

Always,

Jess.

Leave a Reply

