Skin and Bones (121)

18332666Skin and Bones

By Sherry Shahan

Released Date March 1,2014

Sixteen-year-old Jack, nicknamed “Bones,” won’t eat. His roommate in the eating disorder ward has the opposite problem and proudly goes by the nickname “Lard.” They become friends despite Bones’s initial reluctance. When Bones meets Alice, a dangerously thin dancer who loves to break the rules, he lets his guard down even more. Soon Bones is so obsessed with Alice that he’s willing to risk everything–even his recovery.

My Thoughts:

I was given this book in exchange for an honest review. I will admit I was skeptic about reading this book. I have never had an eating disorder or known someone dealing with this problem. So reading a book about teens struggling with anorexia, bulimia, or compulsive eating disorder has never been something that has jumped out at me. These are things that I’ve heard about but for some reason it never felt real to me. It was like I don’t have to deal with this so why care about it. Reading this book has made me think that this is something I am happy that I’ve never been through. At the same time I feel sad that these issues are daily trial for people. For me reading this book showed me that everyday it was a daily choice to eat less, not throw up or starve yourself for many people. That amazes me that there are people who have to remind them selves that it is ok to eat that last bite. That their body isn’t to fat or food wont make everything better.  

At the beginning of this book I thought I wouldn’t want to finish this book. I honestly thought I’d give up part way through. I’m happy that I didn’t. I feel like my eyes have been opened to something I never would have thought was an issue. For me this book was a great read. It has humor, love, lose and tragedy. I love that it has two characters that have learned to accept their bodies and decided they wanted to get better. It shows their struggle to except that were more than their diseases. The acceptance of the fact that people may not understand them but are dealing with that. They slowly learning to love them selves for who they are that is how they are able to get better. 

This truly in my opinion was an amazing book. It is worth reading. It made ramble endlessly. I hope that you guys will check it out when it is released and enjoy it as much as I did. 

Happy Reading

Always

Jess

Leave a Reply

