Beautiful Creatures: Caster Chronicles, Book 1 (115)

7953186 Beautiful Creatures: Casters Chronicles, Book 1

By: Kami Garcia & Margaret Stohl

There were no surprises in Gatlin County.
We were pretty much the epicenter of the middle of nowhere.
At least, that’s what I thought.
Turns out, I couldn’t have been more wrong.
There was a curse.
There was a girl.
And in the end, there was a grave.
Lena Duchannes is unlike anyone the small Southern town of Gatlin has ever seen, and she’s struggling to conceal her power and a curse that has haunted her family for generations. But even within the overgrown gardens, murky swamps and crumbling graveyards of the forgotten South, a secret cannot stay hidden forever.
Ethan Wate, who has been counting the months until he can escape from Gatlin, is haunted by dreams of a beautiful girl he has never met. When Lena moves into the town’s oldest and most infamous plantation, Ethan is inexplicably drawn to her and determined to uncover the connection between them.
In a town with no surprises, one secret could change everything.

My Thoughts:

So first let me say this I watched the movie before I read the book because I was told I would hate the movie if I read the book first. I would like to say that the movie was good until I read the book. Beautiful Creatures is a wonderful novel. I enjoyed every moment I spent in Glatin.

so the things that I loved about this book:

  1. the p.o.v is Ethan’s
  2. that they fought for what everyone believed impossible.
  3. it’s a simple romance that had so many complications
  4. it’s just rocked

So now that you know what I loved. Let me explain why, Ethan being a guy wouldn’t normally be my first thought in a book as a narrator call me sexist but it is true. When I think of having romance in a book I think of a woman or girl saying everything they are going though. I loved that it has a guy’s perspective. The thing about them fighting. Well I think its beautiful that they believe so much in their love that they would go through such lengths. The whole simple yet complicated thing well they don’t belong together but they do. Its like twilight but with a more magical aspect. You find yourself with this set of emotions you couldn’t even begin to understand. Like the fact that Lena has to be hated for who is in her family not even judge by her own merit. Then to have Ethan the golden boy turn his back on everyone for something he believes in well someone. It’s just wow so obviously better than twilight. Now to the it just rocked. Well that’s pretty self-explanatory. This is a great book with a wonderful story I’m happy I invested in it for my collection. You should read if you have yet to!!!

Happy Reading!

Always Jess

Leave a Reply

