Dash & Lilly’s Book of Dares (109)

Title:Dash & Lily’s Book of Dares9810397

Author: Rachel Cohn & David Levithon

Read By: Ryan Gessel & Tara Sands

Length: 6:40: 36

Published: October 26,2010

Description of the Book:

“I’ve left some clues for you.
If you want them, turn the page.
If you don’t, put the book back on the shelf, please.”

So begins the latest whirlwind romance from the New York Times bestselling authors of Nick & Norah’s Infinite Playlist. Lily has left a red notebook full of challenges on a favorite bookstore shelf, waiting for just the right guy to come along and accept its dares. But is Dash that right guy? Or are Dash and Lily only destined to trade dares, dreams, and desires in the notebook they pass back and forth at locations across New York? Could their in-person selves possibly connect as well as their notebook versions? Or will they be a comic mismatch of disastrous proportions?

Co-written by Rachel Cohn and David Levithan, co-author of WILL GRAYSON, WILL GRAYSON with John Green (LET IT SNOW, THE FAULT IN OUR STARS), DASH & LILY’S BOOK OF DARES is a love story that will have readers perusing bookstore shelves, looking and longing for a love (and a red notebook) of their own.

Pre-Read: Seems like it will be funny and sweet

While Reading: 

  • Dash makes me want to laugh
  • Lily is hilarious
  • When I doubt eat carbs
  • I so love Lily
  • OMG they are perfect for each other
  • Dash seems sad
  • I so would have been attracted to Dash in high school
  • Haha this book is funny
  • Haha Lily’s brother reminds me of my brother
  • I love how Lily love christmas
  • I don’t find Lily to be weird
  • Awe
  • Awe they would be perfect for each other
  • OMG she likes him cause he’s geeky
  • I love love love the way Lilly talks
  • Dash makes me want to read a OED lol
  • Hahaha I love Lily
  • Dash is perfect
  • …..I Think Dash knows Edgar
  • I love this book ever so much
  • Hahaha
  • I love Lily’s logic
  • Awe they complete each other.

Overall Thoughts:

I love this story. It was written sweetly and quirky. Te whole thing brings you into this amazing book of dares. (obviously hence the title) I love that they found each other so randomly all because of a notebook. I love the thought that they are a mystery to each other. This is a short yet sweet story about finding the possible right one in a world full of so many people who don’t fit with you. It has laughter and good old-fashioned romance. I love the way Lily’s family is with her especially great-aunt Ida. I would like to believe that I would be the same way with my nieces and nephews. I know I will be that way with my children wanting someone who could see the unique parts about them and fall in love with that. I love that Dash who is so different from Lily finds himself reviling things about himself that he could not say before just like Lily. This whole book was just written flawlessly. It makes you want to fall in love with the idea of love. The moment where you can see reality for what it is and fantasy as it is. That is what this book is it takes the dream guy or girl in a person’s head and makes them seem a little more attainable but also that they may not be out there but there is someone who will make you feel like your perfect the way you are. This is a great contemporary romance novel for people of any age well not an elementary school aged kid due to the fact that well there is the occasional curse word. I do recommend this book to anyone who enjoys contemporary fiction and loves a bit of romance.

Rating:5/5

Quote(s) I Love:

“But whether or not you are here, you are here because these words are for you, and they wouldn’t exist if you weren’t here in some way.”

“You have to trust the words. They do not create anything more than themselves.”

“With all due respect, if you’re forty-three, then I’m a fetus.”

“The universe doesn’t decide what’s right or not right. You do.”

“Things change all the time, mostly in little ways. That’s how it goes, I guess.”

“You bookish little pervert.”

“It’s only a game if there is an absence of meaning. And we’ve already gone too far for that.”

Happy Reading!

Always Jess

 

P.S.

This was my first Rachel Cohn & David Levithen Novel. I am so reading Nick & Nora next 🙂

Leave a Reply

