Harry Potter & The Sorcerer’s Stone: Harry Potter Book 1 (106)

Title:Harry Potter & The Sorcerer’s Stone121121

Series:Harry Potter, Book 1

Author:J.K. Rowling

Edition:Paperback

Length:312

Published: October 1, 1999

Publisher:Scholastic Inc

Source:Library

Genre:Fantasy

Age Group:8 & up

Description of the Book:

Harry Potter has never played a sport while flying on a broomstick. He’s never worn a cloak of invisibility, befriended a giant, or helped hatch a dragon. All Harry knows is a miserable life with the Dursleys, his horrible aunt and uncle, and their abominable son, Dudley. Harry’s room is a tiny closet at the foot of the stairs, and he hasn’t had a birthday party in eleven years.

But all that is about change when a mysterious letter arrives by owl messenger: a letter with an invitation to a wonderful place he never dreamed existed. There he finds not only friends, aerial sports, and magic around every corner, but a great destiny that’s been waiting for him…if Harry can survive the encounter.

Pre-Read:

Second time reading Harry Potter I stopped at book four in the fifth grade. So I cant wait to finally finish the series, There is no better place to start then the beginning.

While Reading:

Chapter One: Awe I forgot how sad the beginning was. I wish he could have stayed with Dumbledore or someone else more caring

Chapter Two: The snake & the disappearing glass that is one of my favorite parts as a kid

Chapter Three: I always loved how the letters made Vernon Dursley a bit crazy.

Chapter Four: I understand why Hagrid looks scary but when i think about him I think of a giant teddy bear. After all Bears have claws but are still cuddly. 🙂

Chapter Five:It’s sad that Harry spent his whole life feeling unloved and then boom Hagrid makes his birthday the best ever. 🙂 That’s one of the reasons I always thought Hagrid was so amazing.

Chapter Six: I love Ron and Harry’s friendship because they found common ground so easily. That’s how you know you have a great friend. Then Mrs. Weasley automatically going into mother mode over Harry. I ❤ the Weasley’s

Chapter Seven: This is the chapter that made me wish that I was a witch when I was a kid, It was the best thing imagining Harry waiting to be sorted

Chapter eight: I always think of Snape as misunderstood because if you think about it he was bullied. He just has a lot of resentment and deserved to be treated better.

Chapter Nine: I like this chapter for three reasons :

  1. Harry and Ron standing up to Malfoy for Neville with out as second thought
  2. It showed how pathetic Malfoy really is
  3. It was the beginning of Hermione and Neville’s friendship with Harry and Ron.

Chapter Ten: I always wondered how Snape knew where to go when the troll attacked. Also totally get why Harry, Hermione and Ron are in Gryffindor.

Chapter Eleven: Harry is awesome. That is all I have to say

Chapter Twelve: Poor harry going eleven years without a good Christmas. I think Mrs. Weasley is sweet. Then the mirror i loved that Harry was able to see his family even though he didn’t really get to know them. I can totally feel for Harry I lost my dad as a kid so i think i would hope to see him if i had a chance to look into that mirror

Chapter Thirteen: When I was younger I didn’t like Snape and I feel for him but im still not a fan. He is a jerk a majority of the time with a chip on his shoulder. The fact that Hagrid defended him says a lot about him because Hagrid is a straight shooter if he thinks your good people then more than likely you are.

Chapter Fourteen:I can’t believe Malfoy is being so stupid  seriously he really is just jealous of Harry but he has no real reason to be.

Chapter Fifteen: I want to know what the centaur meant by mars being bright. The thing that I thought was Mars is the war-god in Roman culture so  I wonder if that’s what they meant. Also, why did Firenze help Harry? The other centaur’s seemed annoyed by it so why did he do it?


Chapter Seventeen: I think Harry rocks as a hero. 🙂  Then Dumbledore thinking Harry more than capable of doing anything. I loved the ending can’t wait for book two!

Overall Thoughts: So I first read this book back when I was around eight years old close to being nine. I loved this book then as much as I do now. The story truly is magical. The way Harry goes from thinking he’s nothing special and realizes that he is something spectacular. He has good friends for the first time in  his life that are as close as family to him. He has people who are looking out for his best interest which in my opinion is something he has always needed. This book lets you see that no matter where you come from you are capable of great things. That is one of the reasons I loved this book as a kid and love it now as an adult. J.k. Rowling has an amazing imagination and has brought a wonderful world to life. It makes me fee like a kid again reading the series. I think this is a great series foe any one of any age. if you haven’t read it what are you waiting for. In my opinion it gets better every time.

Rating: 5/5

Happy Reading!

Jess

Leave a Reply

