The Hunger Games: Hunger Games Trilogy, Book 1 (85)

15784152Title:The Hunger Games

Series:The Hunger Games Trilogy, Book 1

Author:Suzanne Collins

Read By:Carolyn McCormick

Edition:Audiobook MP3

Length:11 Hours 11 Minutes 11 Seconds

Published:October 27,2009

Publisher:Scholastic Audio

Source:Library

Genre:YA, Dystopia

Age Group:14 & Up

Description of the Book:In the ruins of a place once known as North America lies the nation of Panem, a shining Capitol surrounded by twelve outlying districts. The Capitol is harsh and cruel and keeps the districts in line by forcing them all to send one boy and one girl between the ages of twelve and eighteen to participate in the annual Hunger Games, a fight to the death on live TV.

Sixteen-year-old Katniss Everdeen, who lives alone with her mother and younger sister, regards it as a death sentence when she steps forward to take her sister’s place in the Games. But Katniss has been close to dead before-and survival, for her, is second nature. Without really meaning to, she becomes a contender. But if she is to win, she will have to start making choices that weigh survival against humanity and life against love.

Pre-Read:I’ve been wanting to read this since I saw the movie. I mean if the movie was that good the book is bound to be amazing 🙂

While Reading: 

  • It’s sad that they have to risk so much
  • Wow Peeta is an amazing person to be that brave as a kid.
  • I would be terrified to have to be a tribute
  • Katniss seems so cold
  • I wonder why Cinna asked for district 12
  • I like Peeta in the book better than i did in the movie
  • You can see Peeta’s feelings more clearly in the book in the beginning
  • I cant help but want to cry for Peeta
  • I like Peeta statement the wants to die as himself
  • Peeta is a jerk
  • I love how Katniss is always thinking about her sister
  • I was scared Katniss was about to give up
  • I couldn’t do what Katniss is doing
  • Poor Peeta

Overall Thoughts:

This book was way better than the movie but as I said before the book is always better. Well thus far that has been my experience as a reader that has been the case. There were moments where I thought of Katniss as a cold-hearted person but then I began to understand that she is guarded. Always living with the constant fear of losing the people she loved most in the world. I loved seeing her strength and selflessness. the fact that she is constantly thinking about Prim. The fact that all the mattered was dying with dignity for her sister.Than you have Peeta I felt such sorrow for him. He has loved Katniss and she was just putting on a show. This book was amazing. Thought wow to have to go from one extreme to an other. This is an amazing book you get to experience a range of emotions while reading. I enjoyed every moment while reading. I recommend this to anyone who loves Dystopia novels. If you have yet to read it what are you waiting for.

Rating: 5 Out of 5

Happy Reading!

Always

Jess

Leave a Reply

