Evolution, Me & Other Freaks of Nature (57)

Title: Evolution, Me & Other Freaks of Natureimages 1

Series: Stand Alone

Author: Robin Brande

Edition:Kindle

Pages/Length:274

Published:January 13, 2009

Publisher:Random House Digital

Source:Public Library

Genre: Young Adult, Religous, Romance, Realistic Fiction

Age Group:12& Up

Description of the Book:

Pre-Read:The name caught my attention honestly.

While Reading:  Ms. Shepherd is my Hero!

Overall Thoughts: So I found this to be a book that makes you think. Like really think. It also makes an impression. Well at least it did on me. This is a story about a girl who grew up and church and is shunned for doing something that she believed was right. She wanted to help someone who she thought her friends had wrong. Not knowing that things would be blown out of proportion. Then the same people who shun her start a stupid protest against evolution. She slowly develops a relationship with her lab partner who helps her see the world differently. Slowly she starts to believe in her self and comes to a point were shes able to handle the world with her beliefs and integrity in tack. That’s not always an easy thing for a person especially when you’re a kid at 14 trying to deal with your world falling apart. I know at that age I was going along with what my friends said and nothing else. I wish I could have been more like Mena the main character.

So what I love about this book being that I was raised in a christian home is the following thing. It calls people on stuff that they don’t normally want to talk about. Like faith, how science fits in with the whole god thing. I wish I could have read this book when I was in Jr. High. The whole time I was reading it I was like wow I never thought of things that way. See I grew up the same way as the main person. That witch craft ect. was not right and of god. The thing though is the following I was also raised to make my own choices and have my own beliefs. My parents taught me young that if you believe in something than I should stand up for that. Though that was not always the case with me at a young and sometimes I still don’t. That’s what you see with Mena. She still believes in god but she also believes in evolution. That according to her old group of friends of friends is not right. So slowly while she is going through the motions.  Before I read this book I never thought that there would be things about evolution in the bible for one. That I think is what made me keep reading. Also the Science teacher Ms. Shepherd. She is an inspiration. She stood up and said that what she believes and what she is supposed to be teaching are to separate things which makes me admire her. The thing i took from this is the following that sometimes doing the right thing is hard. Also even people with the best intentions at heart tend to do more harm than good. Also just because you believe one thing doesn’t mean its your job to force the whole world to see things your way. Which takes me back to how I was raised. People will have different opinions and not always agree it’s a fact of life. That is what we have free will to make choices and try to do the best we can with what we got. I truly enjoyed this book because it kind of close to home with me. It is a good read in my opinion. I think if you have a chance to pick it up you should.

Rating: I Give it a 5 out of 5.

Quote(s) I Love:

“Because I’m not on their side and they’re not on mine. Their side wants me to pretend the facts are not what they are. Intelligent design is not science. In fact, it’s hostile to science—it tells people not to believe what science has proven to be true. And at a time like this, we need more young people like you to pursue science as a career so you can tell us all the things we don’t know yet. I can’t allow anyone to discourage that.” (pp. 259-260).

 

Happy Reading!

Always Jess

Leave a Reply

