Hooked: Hooked, Book 1 (55)

12369649Title: Hooked

Series: Hooked, Book 1

Author: Liz Fichera

Edition:Kindle

Pages/Length:368

Published:January 29,2013

Publisher:Harlequin Teen

Source:Public Library

Genre:YA, New Adult, Romance, contemporary

Age Group: 14 & up

Description of the Book:

GoodReads: When Native American Fredricka ‘Fred’ Oday is invited to become the only girl on the school’s golf team, she can’t say no. This is an opportunity to shine, win a scholarship and go to university, something no one in her family has done.

But Fred’s presence on the team isn’t exactly welcome — especially not to rich golden boy Ryan Berenger, whose best friend was kicked off the team to make a spot for Fred.

But there’s no denying that things are happening between the girl with the killer swing and the boy with the killer smile…

GET HOOKED ON A GIRL NAMED FRED.

Amazon:

Get hooked on a girl named Fred…
HE said: Fred Oday is a girl? Puh-leeze. Why is a girl taking my best friend’s spot on the boys’ varsity golf team?
SHE said: Can I seriously do this? Can I join the boys’ team? Everyone will hate me—especially Ryan Berenger.
HE said: Coach expects me to partner with Fred on the green? That is crazy bad. Fred’s got to go—especially now that I can’t get her out of my head. So not happening.
SHE said: Ryan can be nice, when he’s not being a jerk. Like the time he carried my golf bag. But the girl from the rez and the spoiled rich boy from the suburbs? So not happening.But there’s no denying that things are happening as the girl with the killer swing takes on the boy with the killer smile…

Pre-Read: I Need something not paranormal lol

While Reading: I like Fred she reminds me of me when I was that age.

Overall Thoughts: I like this story because of two things I actually learned something about golf. Which I knew nothing about prior to reading. I like this book because it changes character p.o.v’s so you’re seeing the both sides of the story not just one. I can actually say I got hooked. I loved the Fred is someone who over came a fear she had about golfing on an all boys team. I also like that Ryan learned more about himself as a person as the story progressed. You can see the growing pains in this story. It has your typical high school crap but I don’t think it’s over played like a lot of writers do. It is actually something I could see happening in real life. I know most people deal with their friends not approving of someone they dated or are dating. Then you have the petty people who just think they are better. It shows that things even when you’re in high school get a little stressful. That there’s always a bully no matter where you look but you can choose to either let the bully get you down or over come and move forward. Just like Fred and Ryan both did. It also showed that bully’s come in all shapes and sizes. There’s I think a lot you can take from this book. It’s a great romance but it has so much more to it. Especially the overcoming all the obstacles that seem to just be put in the way of the main characters over and over. This is definitely one of my fave books. I think if you have the chance you should pick it up. I know I plan on purchasing it asap. I want it in my collection 🙂

Rating: I give it a 5 out of 5

Trailer:

Happy Reading!
Always
Jess

Leave a Reply

